get involved‎ > ‎advocate‎ > ‎

Untitled Post

posted Apr 13, 2013, 4:00 PM by Laramie County Democrats   [ updated Apr 13, 2013, 4:00 PM by Stacey Obrecht ]

From the Wyoming Democratic Party

For Immediate Release
May 11, 2010
Contact: Brianna Jones
Communications Director
(307) 752-5288 (cell)

Democrats Gather in Casper for Biennial Convention

Casper, WY – Wyoming Democrats will gather in Casper for the biennial state convention, May 14-16, 2010 at the Parkway Plaza Convention Centre.

Delegates from across the state will shape the direction of the party as they craft the party’s platform, hear from party leaders and candidates, and prepare for the 2010 election season with trainings and workshops.

Honored guest speakers at the meal events will include Oregon State Rep. Jefferson Smith, founder of the innovative “Bus Project” political action organization; and New Hampshire Democratic Party Chairman Raymond Buckley, current president of the Association of State Democratic Chairs. A full agenda is included below.


9 a.m. to noon: Platform Committee meeting – Wyoming Room

11 a.m. to 5 p.m.: Candidate, activist and party leader training – Ballrooms A, B & C

1 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.: Wyoming Democratic State Central Committee meeting – American Room

3 p.m. to 8 p.m.: Registration/Check-in – Registration Booth

5 p.m. to 5:15 p.m.: Credentials Committee meeting – Ballroom B

6 p.m. to 8 p.m.: Welcome Reception (remarks from R.C. Johnson) – Parkway Plaza "Old Town" facility

8 p.m. to 9 p.m.: Wyoming Stonewall Democrats (GLBT Caucus) meeting – Wyoming Room


7:30 a.m. to 9 a.m.: Registration/Check-In – Registration Booth

9 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: State Convention, Morning Session – Grand Ballroom

Call to Order by Hon. Leslie Petersen, State Chair

Presentation of the colors, Pledge of Allegiance, Star-Spangled Banner


Welcome by Casper Mayor Bill Brauer, Natrona County Commissioner Terry Wingerter

Introduction of Democratic Legislators and County Officials by State Chair

Report of Credentials and Ballots Committee

Report of Nominating Committee and election of Convention Chair

Convention Chair introduces officers and addresses the Convention

Adoption of Convention rules

Short video courtesy of the Democratic National Committee

Address by WDP Treasurer Chuck Herz

Introduction of U.S. House Candidate David Wendt, and his Address

Address by WDP Vice Chair Mike Bell

Address by House Minority Leader Patrick Goggles

Address by Senate Minority Leader Kathryn Sessions

Report of the Bylaws Committee and vote on changes to the bylaws

Moment of Silence in memory of all the great Democrats we’ve lost in the past two years

Introduction of Superintendent of Public Instruction Candidate Mike Massie, and his Address

11:45 a.m.: Convention recesses for Lunch

Noon: Luncheon – American Room

Introduction by Mike Bell, Vice Chair Wyoming Democratic Party

Keynote by Rep. Jefferson Smith, Oregon House of Representatives

1:30 p.m. to 5 p.m.: State Convention, Afternoon Session – Grand Ballroom

Report of the Resolutions and Platform Committee and adoption of the platform

Introduction of Association of State Democratic Chairs President Raymond Buckley

Platform debate resumes

Vote to adopt the 2010 Wyoming Democratic Party Platform

5 p.m.: Convention recesses for Dinner Banquet

6 p.m. to 7 p.m.: VIP Cocktail Reception – Gourmet Room

6 p.m. to 7 p.m.: No-host cocktails – South Lounge

6 p.m. to 9 p.m.: Silent Auction to benefit the Committee for a Democratic Legislature – South Lounge

7 p.m.: Dinner Banquet – Grand Ballroom

Introduction by Hon. Leslie Petersen, State Chair Wyoming Democratic Party

Keynote by Raymond Buckley, President, Association of State Democratic Chairs


8:30 a.m. to 10 a.m.: No-host breakfast – Gourmet Room

10 a.m. to noon: Service Project with “Keep Casper Beautiful” – meet in hotel lobby to caravan to Nancy English Park